Ask a Question

Get a Fast and Accurate Answer to your Question

Share Question

Give the different seasons in India.

Class 6th Social Science

Asked By Payal Sharma

3 Answers

  • Gagan Yadav

    'Season' is called 'Ritu' in India and according to traditional Indian calendar there are six ritus (Indian seasons)-- 1. Vasant (spring), 2. Grishm (summer), 3. Varsha (monsoon), 4. Sharad (autumn), 5. Hemanat (winter) and 6. Shishir (winter and fall).
  • Suhani Jha

    Ritu means "season" in the Hindu calendar, and there are six ritus (also transliterated rutu) or Indian seasons. The word is derived from the Vedic Sanskrit word Rtu, a fixed or appointed time, especially the proper time for sacrifice (yajna) or ritual in Vedic Religion; this in turn comes from the word Rta as used in Vedic Sanskrit literally means the "order or course of things".
  • Naina Sharma

    A season is a subdivision of the year, marked by changes in weather, ecology, and hours of daylight. Seasons result from the yearly revolution of the Earth around the Sun and the tilt of the Earth's axis relative to the plane of revolution. In temperate and polar regions, the seasons are marked by changes in the intensity of sunlight that reaches the Earth's surface, variations of which may cause animals to go into hibernation or to migrate, and plants to be dormant.

Ask your own question. Don't worry, it's completely free!

Live Chat Software